Discovering Green Tea

I pleasantly discovered the other day when LD and I were wasting time at the mall for my new glasses to be ready that I actually do like tea. In the past, I have been very anti-tea. I usually gag when I drink the stuff, but I guess it is not that I don’t like tea, it is just that I am a tea snob.

I found that when I had green tea, it can help reduce my feelings of allergic reaction even if I don’t have my benedryl with me. That is probably a great tip to learn. However, that is not the only benefit of green tea:

1. Can help prevent some kinds of cancer

2. Can protect your eyes from UV damage

3. Can boost your metabolism

4. Can improve heart health

And Many More….

So, what did I learn about how people make green tea incorrectly? You should use water that is hot but not boiling. Many fancy tea places say around 175 degrees F and only seep the tea for about 45 seconds to a minute. Why be so picky? Well, if you use too hot of water, it can scald the tea, creating a pretty nasty taste (at least to me) and if you seep the tea for too long, it becomes bitter. I am not a person who likes bitter things. Coffee is usually too bitter for me without tons of milk and sugar. So, maybe I have my new drink when I am trying to use the internet at Panera or starbucks between appointments: Green Tea. It’s probably healthier and cheaper anyways.

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

