Start of Running Season

Around this time of year, we get to one of my favorite activities: running season. Before the weather gets warm enough to run safely aka no ice, I like to craft my running goals for the year. Do I want to try for a half marathon? (Still hasn’t happened). Or do I want to really focus on 10ks and learn not to die during them? How much am I going to spend on races this year? The plans seem all well and good until the first day of running season hits.

Even for seasoned runners, the first day of running season can quickly turn from joy to dispair. You know the feeling. You go too far and too hard that first run because you are just happy to be running. Then, you find yourself still quite a distance from home, out of breath and feeling like you are going to hurl. Is it just me that does this?

Anyway, even if you successfully make it through your first run and do your proper stretching, the soreness and stiffness sets in the next day. This is the worst. You may have only run a mile or two, but your body feels like you ran 10. Stairs are hard to walk up and down. It is so difficult to sit and get up. However, as that soreness starts to fade, you just have to get back out on the road. Those goals aren’t going to accomplish themselves.

Also, this year I have a new running buddy. Tasha is great but she tends to be too fast for me and make me feel like a failure. So, Arccos will be my running buddy this year and Tasha will be with LD. He loved last run and gets so excited if anyone touches tennis shoes right now. I’m glad one of us has motivation at the moment.

Happy start of running season everyone! I hope you aren’t as sore as I am! What is your favorite part of spring and summer?

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

