It’s My Birthday! On Turning 25.

Well, today is my 25th birthday. It’s weird to say that I am now a quarter of a century old. For some reason, this year seems different than all of my past birthdays. Today just seems to be a normal day.

Today, like any other day, I have to make decisions. Do we want to postpone the home renovations so that we can get a bigger car and a trailer first and then don’t have to borrow an suv from a family member? Now that the grocery circulars are out, what are we eating next week for dinner? Can we stay within budget for the month? Do we want to do the struts on the Prius ourselves or have a mechanic do it? It’s a regular day.

When I was younger, I used to count down the days to my birthday starting in January and I feel like my expectations about what my birthday would be like would outshadow what my birthday actually was. My only expectations this year were that LD would remember the date, which is not an easy feat for him. He once said that Christmas was the third Wednesday in January in ALL seriousness. Dates really aren’t his strong point. However, he did remember this morning that it was my birthday (and I am SO proud). Now, all I want for the rest of the day are for work things to not go too terribly and to work from home today, cuddling with my adorable pups. This is definitely a big turnaround from my younger years where I wanted everyone to know it was my birthday and make a big deal. Maybe I’m growing up? Or, maybe I’m just too tired to care.

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

