M(a)nic Monday: The Results are In

Since getting married last spring, I have switched over to Danielle’s health insurance. It’s a bit more expensive but it’s also more comprehensive. With it comes a chance to take an annual biometric screening for rate reductions. If you’re in the top tier, we’re talking about $500 off a year, nothing dramatic but it’s a few extra dollars in your pocket.

I have to say, I wasn’t the kind of person to get a physical and blood work every year, especially throughout college. And so, a while after starting my professional career, I got the whole workup done. Cholesterol, triglycerides, HIV testing, EKG, anything you can wave a stick at because it was the first time I’d had it done since I was a kid, and it was all covered under my insurance. (I know there’s another discussion here, and I’ll save that for another time.)

My test results were what many people would call great and what I would call OK. I was within the top tier of the healthy range, but borderline, for everything tested: BMI, HDL, LDL, triglycerides, blood pressure, etc. Needless to say I, and Danielle at this time, were upset about the results. We’re runners, we’re active, we eat health conscious, and we’re young. There isn’t a reason we should be near the border of these tests for any other reason than genetics. Fuck genetics.

With this past weekend came a chance for me to opt into Danielle’s health insurance rate reduction program and so I got the whole shebang again. This time I was happy. I saw my HDL raise >10pts, LDL drop over 20pts, blood pressure fall, and BMI fall. I am now securely within and near the tops of all of the ranges and I shamefully, haven’t even done a true workout or run in over three months. But I have been shoveling snow by hand, working around the house, playing with the dogs, and most importantly eating healthier.

Since the first time Danielle and I had a full blood workup we have made drastic shifts to our eating habits: fresh/frozen vegetables and fruit with every meal, not having sugary or salty snacks in the house, and eating less salty and non-nutritious food. Want a cookie in this house? Danielle can teach you how to make them in about 15 minutes flat, if you want them that bad, you better be willing to work for it.

Being healthier isn’t just about getting out and exercising and it isn’t just about counting calories and it definitely isn’t watching what you eat. It’s about eating balanced meals, with balanced proportions, and being active and seeing life’s obstacles in a positive light.

Unfortunately, genetics may still be a speed bump for some, but it’s not a road block.

Signed, LD

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

