Financial Friday: Exercising on a Budget

When I took on exercising more frequently this year, I was a little concerned about either getting bored with the workouts by doing the same videos over and over again or spending money to join a gym. Although I really miss the treadmill and being able to run all year like I was able to do at the old apartment, I feel like my exercising has gotten a lot more creative and has more variety. It really isn’t that difficult to exercise on a budget.

BudgetExercise
Photo credit: Bev Goodwin / Foter / CC BY-SA

1. Use Youtube Wisely

There are several great workout videos on Youtube that can keep you motivated. Some of them are even created by people in their own homes with similar space and equipment restrictions that you might have yourself. One of my personal favorites for channels is Yoga with Adriene, but if you like circuits or HIITs there are also videos for you from other Youtubers. I also like a lot of ballet barre exercises and kickboxing.

2. Get Limited Equipment

You can do a lot with just gym shoes, a yoga mat, a sturdy chair, and a pair of hand weights. Seriously, with just that equipment you can do some plyometric circuits, yoga, an ab workout, strength training, barre workouts, among others. Stairs are also helpful for doing HIIT workouts but are not necessary.

3. Use the Outdoors to your Advantage

Although it is freezing in Wisconsin at the moment, the outside still has some things to offer. As much as I hate it, shoveling is a great exercise as it combines cardio and weight lifting. I also like to use the snow in the backyard to my advantage for burning extra calories while playing with the pups in the backyard on slightly warmer days (above 20 degrees with little wind). However, I can’t wait for it to warm up so that I can start running again without fearing the ice. When it is warmer, I can also use the local parks for full body workouts with monkey bars and climbing, especially.

What do you do to workout instead of going to the gym? How do you exercise on a budget?

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in DIY, Financial Friday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

