Master Bedroom Reno Troubles

I am going to say it. Homeownership is not easy. Between shovelling snow this week and our most recent hiccup for the simple updates to finish our master bedroom redesign, I am beat. What is happening in the master, you ask? Well, we made a plan to paint it, change out the light fixture, add valences and roman shades, add a matching headboard, and put up crown moulding to upscale the room a bit. However, the fabric we want is out of stock (we went to two JoAnn fabrics and looked online) and we cannot figure out the stain color that was used on all the rest of the trim.

I think the trim is bothering me the most because with how we painted the room, expecting crown molding, we didn’t bother to cut out on the top of the wall properly, we just stopped an inch away. For a person that likes things neat and tidy, this is a major headache. If you add to it that we bought trim and assumed it was a certain color and stained all the trim wasting $100, you have one irritated Danielle. At this point, on test stain #27 on now small sections of trim, I can say with 99.99% certainty that the stain color was discontinued and now I pretty much have to mix my own. That testing starts today (oh joy, oh rapture).

Why don’t we just put in all brand new trim? Well, then we woud have to do it for the entire house and the way the hardwood floors were put in in our bedroom, we will have to remove some pieces of floor in order to remove the base boards. That is more time and money than it is worth and I would rather not have the crown molding quite frankly. However, I am narrowing in on a combination of stains that should match well enough, but I think I have said that before.

So, if you need me today, you will likely find me mixing stains in the basement…..or studying for my exam tomorrow….either way, wish me luck!

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Homebuying. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

