Screwed up the Surprise

Apparently, I am no good at planning a surprise for LD. As his birthday is coming up in less than a month, I was in the early planning stages of pulling together a surprise party with the help of my mother. I have been working on the thing for 3 whole days, and the surprise is already ruined. I hadn’t even gotten around to inviting people!!! Arg. Well, that’s what I get when I ask LD to hand me my phone with a text message prominently displayed that spells out all the secrets.

Luckily for me, he is excited about what I have planned so far (small dinner, huge group trip to the roller rink for hip hop night). However, I feel like I let him down on the whole surprise thing. Maybe, there are some details that I can still keep as a secret. Will we have a cake? Who knows!! Will we actually go to the roller rink? Might change (although he was so excited that I doubt that will happen). But, I just feel awful that I screwed up on the surprise.

Has anyone ever tried to plan a surprise party before? It’s so difficult to get things together for it without someone you are really close to discovering your secret. What would you do if you were planning something like this? I would love to start a list of rules about surprise parties.

1. Make sure all invited guests know it is a surprise.

2. Don’t make any plans through text or email (see, I’m learning)

3. Keep things simple

What would you add?

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

