Resolution Check Point-January

So breaking curfew this weekend is really catching up to me. I am positively exhausted! Nothing else has changed with our schedules so that has to be the reason. Anyway, because we are coming to the end of January (seriously, where did it go?), I have decided to catch you up on how I have been doing with my New Years Resolutions (Yes, we are going to do this every month to keep me accountable).

checkpointjan
Photo credit: Paul Keller / Foter / CC BY

To Go Debt-Free

Partially thanks to the fact that I have 3 pay periods this month, we are getting a nice jump start to our debt-free plan. We have also decided to wait on refinancing until later in the year so that our monthly mortgage payments stay lower and we don’t have closing costs. Both of these could affect how long it takes us to go debt-free. We were also able to rid ourselves of PMI payments which is nice.

To Exercise a Minimum of 30 minutes per day, 5 days a week

Well, this one of course has been a little difficult for me, especially when I was gone on my business trip and took a couple days to get back into practice. However, finding a great yoga channel on youtube has helped. I also wake up and immediately put on my workout clothes. Workouts happen from 7 to 7:30am every single weekday. The more I’m in routine, the easier it is. However, I find myself sometimes going to more of a 20 minute workout if I have a busy day ahead of me. That’s where I seem to struggle. If I don’t feel like working out, I seem to end up with a shorter and shorter workout time (and an easier and easier workout). Anyone have any suggestions for continued motivation? This is where I always seem to struggle. At least I’m moving somewhat every day, right?

The other resolutions aren’t currently applicable as I can’t really tell you my progress toward maintaining my GPA and don’t test my cholesterol except for 2 times a year. I also haven’t hit running season yet so I can’t work toward the 10k goal yet. I am really scared to run when there might be slick spots.

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resolution Check Point-January

  1. Gedy says:

    I’ve never been fond of workouts set by time… When running I’ve usually set a distance I want to go with a pre-planned route. If I do want to aim for a certain time I’ll plan a distance I expect to be around there. Sometimes I would do timed workouts though, usually with planned intervals of higher intensity (fartleks). The intervals seem to make the workout go faster by breaking it up into chunks with checkpoints and taking my mind off of the overall time.

    Not sure if you could adapt a similar philosophy to your indoor workouts, just food for thought.

    Like

    • Thanks for the ideas. With running, I will set a distance as I know how fast I usually run, but that is hard to do with indoor workouts and a daily changing work schedule. Time is extremely important for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

