Planning the Future

The other night, LD and I sat down and made a 5-year plan that included both planned personal events and our financial plans. It is crazy to think that we have the basic ideas of how much money we will have saved up and that we have our futures mapped out. I know you are probably telling me that I am too young to plan things so specifically, but that is the beauty of plans, they can change. I think the important part was really LD and I sitting down and discussing our priorities and what we want to accomplish over the next 5 years.

Don’t worry all the aunts who are expecting us to have kids! They are part of the plan, but they are not planned for now. We have a lot we want to accomplish before we start trying for kids. For example, LD is on the career path he wants to be on, but I am still working towards getting established on mine. I would like to finish school before I have kids and at least have the degree to get me to where I want to be. With one kid, I might be able to get on my desired career path. With two, I might not be able to put the time in to essentially start over. I don’t want to be a stay-at-home mom. There is nothing wrong with it. It is just not the right choice for me.

The other big thing with the 5-year plan is that for the first time, we actually set a renovation budget. We have all these ideas for how to improve the house, but until we worked out the plan, we had no set budget. That means we now have to work within the budget to update our house without putting in more money than the price point we plan to raise it to. If we accomplished nothing else with this planning, it is that LD and I are on the same page, at least for a little while.

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Planning the Future

  1. ricodilello says:

    “Not so Crazy on the Outside” It is nice to see young people make a plan. I suggest that you watch “Property Brothers” T.V. show. Some renovations add value to the value of your home some do not..

    Like

    • Most of our home renovations will include redoing the kitchen into a better format and our current cabinets are starting to pull away from the wall, finishing the basement to add more living space, and retiling the bathrooms to get rid of the linoleum. All should add some value to the house although possibly not the full value of the renovations. The rest of the money for renovations that we might not recoup is for the entertainment and teambuilding values, especially because we are remodeling mainly as diy projects.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

