Wildcard Wednesday: The Test

With all of the changes Danielle and I have been making to our lifestyle over the past year I wasn’t sure how I was going to handle everything with her out of town. Taking care of two dogs, cooking from scratch, buying groceries, driving 1.5+ hours a day, working on a house, cleaning a house, taking care of bills, and everything else being an adult, pet owner, and homeowner entails.

 

This sounds pretty silly, “I don’t know how I’m going to get through everything I always do!” I am fortunate to have a partner in crime to do it all with me and so the work load is usually split right down the middle. I wasn’t overwhelmed, I didn’t question doing things an easier way, and I didn’t postpone things until Danielle returned home. I was busy though.

 

People always say college is what prepares you for life; for me it was high school. I had two parents that pushed me and they pushed me hard. I was up with the sun and to bed long after it went down. I was studying, doing extra circulars, or working on household projects. College, I slacked off. I went to class, I worked, and I hung out.

 

I was high school busy this weekend without Danielle. I enjoyed every minute of it. I appreciate everything Danielle does with and for me, but it feels good to go to bed exhausted both mentally and physically every once in a while. It feels good to finish off the entire checklist and then pass out on the couch with the dogs. Yes, that happened twice this week and my neck regretted it both mornings but the smile on their faces makes it worth it.

 

I learned these past few days that everything Danielle and I do to cook from scratch, stockpile when deals occur, fix up our house, play with the dogs, do chores, and relax at the end of the day is possible with just one of us. It is by far easier with the two of us but a healthier and cheaper lifestyle doesn’t require more time or more money. It means taking a few minutes to plan out your day, a few minutes to prioritize, and a lot of dedication.

 

With spring right around the corner and drywall needing to be put up with a few walls also needing to be moved, I can guarantee the next few months are going to have a lot of exhausting days and I am excited to take them on with Danielle. We might just need a bigger couch to sleep on.

 

Signed ,

LD

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wildcard Wednesday: The Test

  1. ricodilello says:

    Wait until you been married for 35 plus years, he may enjoy some alone time even more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

