Tuesday Tails: The Apocalypse

With Danielle out of town, I, LD, have been put in charge. So here we go.

 

The dogs are used to Danielle being around the house. They are used to being in their crates for 1-5 hours at a time. This isn’t to say that they can’t do 8-9 hours, we just prefer to keep their time in their crates to a minimum as they already sleep in their crates at night. I know it would drive me crazy being in a crate for so long.

 

Today was their first workday this week with me. We got up bright and early, 3:30am. We ran around, we played games, we had coffee, and we cuddled. By the time work rolled around I let them out one last time and I said my goodbyes as I locked them up for the day.

 

Fast forward 8.5hours.

 

I did what any responsible dog owner would do. Excite their dogs when they are already in a frantic state. After 8.5 hours cooped up they both had energy to burn. I calmly opened their crates doors and then all hell broke loose. With as much excitement I could muster we ran, we chased, we did laps in the backyard, and we fell down the steps. Not one, not two, but all three of us. Thankfully it was only the last 4-5 steps and I landed on the bottom with the dogs on top. Lesson to be learned here, don’t chase all the tennis balls you throw down the stairs with two dogs on your heels. Well, at least put a pad at the bottom of the stairs.

 

Then there was  our adventure outside. At this point Arccos still had too much energy to know what to do with. So he leaped and bounded everywhere with no regard to how the world really works. I could see the sheer terror in his face as he realized he miscalculated, but it was too late. With a plop he landed in 18” of freezing cold snow. With a quick leap he was out, but I wish I would have had a camera for that.

 

It really only took 10 minutes for them to burn off all their energy at this rate and with the realization that the world wasn’t ending, that I so thoughtfully instilled in them with my manic. They joined me on the couch for some cuddles and naps.

 

I knew I couldn’t sustain getting up at 3:30am the next few mornings and so I did what any reasonable dog owner would do. Sleep on the couch with them. With Danielle out of town, them not allowed on the bed, and them already spending long times in their crates it seemed like the perfect plan. I will admit it all went pretty smoothly except for the swift kick the groin at 2:00am from Tasha in her sleep.

 

Without Danielle here to advise, we’re a little on the chaotic side, but we’ll make it out of this alive. I hope.

 

Signed,

LD

 

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

