My New Year’s Resolutions 2015

Welcome to 2015! Right now, it seems so full of promise and excitement, but over the next few weeks with after multiple slip ups while writing the date, it will feel so ordinary. But, we aren’t there yet. The beginning of a new year is a great time to evaluate your life and what you were able to accomplish and what you hope to accomplish in the future. I definitely do this every year with my work and so, it also bleeds over into my home life. However, any day is a good day to evaluate where you are and where you want to go, so feel free to do it anytime you want.

2015resolutions

Photo credit: mt 23 / IWoman / CC BY-SA

Here are my resolutions for 2015. I am hoping that if I announce them to the world, I will be more motivated to keep up with them. Some are where I stumbled a bit last year (I analyzed my abilities to keep my resolutions in 2014, yesterday if you missed it.), some are plans I have had for years that I hope to finish this year, and some are just for me.

To Go Debt-Free

This year, we are going to pay off all of the remaining student loans and auto loan. The mortgage does not typically count in going debt-free, but we also plan to refinance to a shorter payment term for a lower interest rate at some point this year so we don’t have to pay as much over the life of the mortgage (somewhere in the ballpark of $50k saved).

To Exercise a Minimum of 30 minutes per day, 5 days per week

I made this resolution last year along with eating healthier and was able to accomplish the eating healthier. I was able to maintain the exercise goal off and on throughout the year but I want to make it a habit this year.

To Get My Cholesterol in the Normal Range

I have talked in the past about the fact that my cholesterol is a bit above normal. My hope is to get it in the correct range this year. This is the main drive behind my diet and exercise resolutions from the past couple of years and I have been slowly lowering it, but to get to the right place would be fantastic.

To Maintain a GPA above 3.75

As much as I would love to say 4.0, I have to be realistic. Although my business classes come much easier to me than my engineering classes used to, I am not a school wiz. Also, the higher the pressure the worse I do (please tell me someone else is like me and I’m not alone on this). So, 3.75 should be just enough pressure without too much.

To Run a 10k in Less than an Hour

Every year on July 4th, my town does a 10k run. Last year, I finished in an hour and 2 minutes! Seriously?!?! So close. But, this year I am going to nail it. Even if I have to practice the race route for a month before the actual event, I am going to make it.

So, what are your resolutions/goals for the year? What dreams are you going to accomplish?

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

