Reflecting on 2014

Now that it is the last day of 2014, I guess it is time to reflect on the year. I will warn you, though, I am feeling a little under the weather today and when that is the case, I tend to be more emotional. So, please bear with me.

2014reflections

Photo credit: pasotraspaso / iW / CC BY

This year has definitely been one of big events. This year alone, we got married, went to Costa Rica for our honeymoon, bought a house, helped Tasha become a good canine member of society, and brought Arccos into our little family. Plus, I started grad school. It seems like so many big life changes when strung together like that, but when they were happening, they just seemed like the logical next step.

I would be remiss if I were not to also reflect on those people who we lost this year. Most recently, my great aunt who died last Friday. But, the list also includes LD’s grandfather and several others who were not necessarily close to us, but impacted us in big ways during various points in our lives.

As for my 2014 New Years resolutions, I didn’t accomplish all of them, but I managed to accomplish a lot. We found a home to call ours and we did get Tasha to a point where she can be placed in social situations. However, I think I failed at most of the ones for me. I didn’t work out a minimum of 5 times a week throughout the whole year. Although I had a great burst right in the middle of the year. Why is it always easier to work out in the summer? I didn’t run a half marathon, but I did achieve the 5 mile run that has been on my bucket list since college and in a better time than I had ever dreamed. I also placed in the top three of my age group for a race, which I never would have thought would happen. Yes, I am a lot more about running than my blog lets on. By the end of the year, I successfully started eating healthier, mainly because we make most of our food from scratch these days.

What are my 2015 goals going to be? Well, you will have to stop by and see them tomorrow. I also have plans for a big reward if I succeed and I know you are dying to know what that is. But for now, what did you accomplish in 2014? Did you reach your goals or fall short this year?

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflecting on 2014

  1. Pingback: My New Year’s Resolutions 2015 | Crazy on the Outside

Leave a Reply

