Tuesday Tails: A Rough Adjustment

When we got Arccos, I expected that the family member with the roughest transition would be Tasha. Tasha loves playing with other dogs, but she was always a little protective of LD and I, so I wasn’t completely sure how smooth the transition would be. Turns out, she loved him almost right away as did I. You know who is still having the roughest time? LD.

IMG_0576

For some strange reason, Arccos just knows how to push all of his buttons. Whether he is whining at a pitch that makes LD’s head buzz or playing dumb, LD is having a hard time accepting him as one of the family completely. LD has even started a nasty habit of blaming Arccos whenever the dogs as a unit do something wrong. I know it is an adjustment thing, as LD has never been good at ignoring behavior he doesn’t like and Arccos’s main drive is for attention, but I still believe Arccos was THE BEST addition to our family (and LD agreed to get him beforehand).

When we got Tasha, I had a hard time adjusting. Over the time we have had her, I have learned so much about myself, mainly because I was pushed out of my comfort zone. I am hoping that Arccos does the same thing for LD. Either way, LD will eventually learn to ignore as kids will push his buttons in all the same ways. Luckily, dogs aren’t as affected by being called names so it will be a good start. I know the two will eventually work themselves out, Arccos just isn’t LD’s dream dog, Tasha is. As frustrating as the in-between might be, I am extremely excited to watch a rescue dog rescue LD the same way Tasha rescued me. Dogs have a way of testing us, but whether we know it or not, they always make us better.

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Pet Rescue/Rehabilitation, Tuesday Tails and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tuesday Tails: A Rough Adjustment

  1. Mom says:

    Dogs do NOT make ME better!! So there

    Like

Leave a Reply

