The Great Arccos-LD Car Standoff

First of all, thank you everyone for understanding yesterday that I was not able to find the time to write a new Tuesday Tails. Between it being finals week for school, multiple family events, and a big workload at work, I just was not able to find the time. I promise, it will only happen on very rare occasions in the future. In fact, I will be gone for a few days in January for a business trip and I will have LD take over the posts for that week if I can’t get them written ahead of time, so I might be as surprised as you about the daily posts.

Anyway, this past weekend was extremely busy and I was ready to kill most of my family (except Tasha, that little ball of fur managed to escape this time). On Friday night, as I had a couple weekends this month, LD and I were moonlighting as a blackjack dealers for some Christmas parties in order to pick up some extra cash. Normally, I go to bed between 8:30 and 9:30, but when I am dealing, I usually don’t get to bed until just after midnight. I don’t do too well with a lack of sleep and not being able to sleep in the next morning, I was exhausted. When I am exhausted, I get cranky.

On Saturday, we made a two-hour trek to my parents house to exchange gifts and that’s when things really went South. Arccos is not anywhere near as good of a traveller as Tasha is. In fact, he gets anxious about car rides because he isn’t next to us where he wants to be and consequently whines. The pitch of the whine is apparently one that LD has a really hard time ignoring, so he gets angry at Arccos and yells at him to be quiet. Arccos, figuring out that his whining gets him the attention he wants, whines louder. Please imagine this for two hours….now imagine this when the only thing you want is to sleep for the next 3 hours or so. I was ready to rid myself of both males in my family, and quickly, but instead I just sat in the car dealing with what I’m pretty sure is my own personal hell.

As soon as we arrive at my parents house, apparently, my dad needs me to move the car right away (as he is hearing the whining and the yelling) because he needs to run out for mayo. Why it was so important that I couldn’t at least empty the noisy beasts from my car first, I don’t know. As my dad and LD see the whites of my eyes….LD grabs Arccos and Tasha as quickly as possible and runs into the backyard for cover. (Think of an action movie trying to save everyone from a grenade that was just thrown.)

Let’s just say, on the way back home, I was training both LD and Arccos for better traveling by feeding LD M&Ms (supplied by my very apologetic dad) every time Arccos whined. Without getting attention, Arccos calmed down in the first 20 minutes or so and we had a much quieter car ride. Next time we go anywhere, I am taking M&Ms.

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Pet Rescue/Rehabilitation, Pet Stories, Tuesday Tails and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Great Arccos-LD Car Standoff

  1. Mom says:

    I thought chocolate was not good for dogs.

    Like

  2. marteenlane says:

    I can relate to getting cranky when I’m up late and can’t sleep in. I can be such a bitch.

    Like

Leave a Reply

