I Know Something You Don’t Know

This year, LD and I decided to do secret stocking stuffers. Back when we were dating (before we were engaged), we would get each other Christmas and birthday gifts that were a total surprise. Since then, we have fallen into asking each other what we want for gifts and asking for really practical things. This year, LD asked to finish off paying his braces bill a whole two months early. I’ve been known to ask for things like money towards our house downpayment and the money to pay for my GMAT exam and study supplies. Aren’t we exciting?

Stockings
Photo credit: andrewmalone / Foter / CC BY

But, this year we are going back to the surprise possibly impractical gifts as stocking stuffers. The rules are that the items we buy have to fit in our stockings and all together cost less than $15 per person. I thought this would be a fun game. I forgot how much the reason we went away from impractical gifts was because spending money on them, no matter how small, is very difficult to wrap your head around when you’ve changed to a frugal lifestyle. I am so used to asking myself whether an item would actually be useful or needed that trying to do the opposite has become an oddly gut wrenching decision. It doesn’t help that he is in the same mindset so that when I ask him what he wants, the answers are things like socks. Maybe hearing my anguish on the blog might get his creative juices flowing (but that might be equally scary).

What is also difficult about surprise gift giving is that I have to keep secrets from LD. It has been really nice that he has been a person that I never keep secrets from. Seriously, I love being able to tell him whatever comes to mind no matter what it is (TMI seems to not be a thing in this house). So, not being able to get excited with him over my ideas for his stocking stuffer is tough. The good news, I can never ever have an affair because keeping it from him would be not only practically impossible for me, but the anguish of not sharing with him would be more punishment than anything else ever could be. Anyway, I digress. I am having a terribly difficult time not telling him what I am thinking about getting for his stocking!

The flip side of not telling him? Even though I know him really well, I am nervous that he won’t like what I get for him. This is supposed to be a fun thing, but I think it is something we might not repeat next year because I am losing my mind about it! Maybe I’m just not the best surprise gift giver.

Do you have any ideas for what to get for LD? Are you good at keeping secrets or do you just want to blurt them out?

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Know Something You Don’t Know

  1. Sarah says:

    Duct tape is always a great gift, or super glue, or something to assist in fixing up the house. Funny and practical!

    Like

    • That is actually a great idea, except that we have tons of duct tape right now. Seriously, if you want duct tape or packaging tape, I think we have more than a store and cheaper prices! I might consider the super glue thing, but I’m a little afraid LD would get it on the dogs somehow and create a real mess…although it is a funny situation to think about. Sorry, got a little distracted. Great idea as long as I keep the baby gate up when LD is in a room using super glue.

      Like

Leave a Reply

