Financial Friday: Money Saving Tips You Probably Haven’t Tried Yet

With the economy being what it is and the very real probability that LD won’t have a job at the beginning of 2015, we have really started preparing for life on one salary. I am extremely impatient when it comes to paying off loans, so even though we have been living on one salary (and using the other for savings and loan payoffs), I am feeling the pressure.

MoneyGirl

 

Photo credit: Tax Credits / Foter / CC BY

So, even though we can easily cover all of our required expenses, I always want to put as much money as possible towards those stupid loans. I have been working really hard to find places where we haven’t cut back yet and have found a few that maybe you haven’t thought of before either.

1. Ebates.com

So, this is quickly becoming one of my favorite websites as you can get extra cash back on almost anything you buy online. If you aren’t planning on buying anything, don’t let this tempt you, but when I needed new work shoes recently, I went there first and was able to get about 10% back on something I was already planning on buying. Score.

2. Make Your Own

I have already been switching over to making my own laundry detergents, cleaners and pantry staples, but I discovered recently that I can also switch over to making my own mouthwash, animal crackers (my staple snack), and shampoo. If there is something you will need to buy soon, just search “make your own _____” and see if there is a reasonable way to make it at home. Oftentimes, raw materials are a lot cheaper than prepared items.

3. Don’t Waste

If you get fresh produce in a week and don’t use all of it, try freezing the leftovers before they go bad. That way, you can save it for a later time. Fruits can be made into smoothies. Vegetables can go into stirfrys or other veggie packed meals.

4. Make Freezer to Crockpot Meals

This has two benefits, you make a lot of food at once and freeze it so you can buy items in bulk when they are on sale, plus using the crockpot takes less energy than heating up your oven, saving you tons of money in the long run.

5. Make it a Game

Really cutting back on expenses can often feel frustrating and like you can’t really do what you want to do. If you make it into a game, it can be a lot more fun. LD and I often compete to see who can find another way to save money and try to put more money towards our debt every month.

Good luck on all of your savings! What other crazy methods of savings do you use? I am always looking for more!

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Financial Friday, MoneyWise and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

