My Thoughts Thursday: Beauty and Confidence

My beauty routine is pretty basic. I don’t wear makeup most days and I often use dry shampoo instead of washing my hair. I mean I do wash my hair a couple times a week, but only when it really needs it. I admire all the women that write blogs about makeup and can do all these crazy things with it, but that has never been me.

Flower
Photo credit: Ron,Ron,Ron / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA

I feel so many women are expected to look a certain way and when they remove the makeup people feel like they had been lied to. Um no. Makeup is not a lie, it’s a tool. It has a lot of power. It gives the wearer confidence. Fashion is the same way. It’s about feeling beautiful.

For me, makeup doesn’t often make me feel beautiful because I feel like I am really good at applying it. Unless I really need to feel beautiful, I don’t wear it. At my age, I can get away with it. For me, feeling beautiful usually comes from my hairstyles. I like playing with my hair. I think it is one of my best features. But, I am hoping for the day that we as women stop depending on these things, myself included.

We don’t need makeup, clothes, or hair to be beautiful. My husband really noticed me the first time when I was actually a sweaty mess playing volleyball. We feel this strong desire to be beautiful and to feel beautiful.

What if we instead aimed for confidence? We become confident that we are capable of so many things, we stop worrying about our beauty. Confidence becomes our beauty that glows from the inside out. When people are truly confident, no one looks at what they are wearing with any negative feelings. When we are confident, we don’t worry about that hair that strays out of place or whether we blended our foundation just right.

So, while reaching for beauty may be a step in the process, confidence should be the real goal. Let’s stop judging each other for what we wear or how we look. Let’s start working on how we feel. I promise when I start to feel “ugly” as I think all of us women have those moments, I will tell myself all the things I am capable of and go for a walk as that always makes me feel better. As Diane von Furstenberg likes to say “You don’t need to be a bitch to be successful. What you need is confidence.”

What do you promise to do to work towards confidence? Do you think confidence and beauty go hand in hand?

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in My Thoughts Thursday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

