Wildcard Wednesday: My Academic Calling

As most of you know, I am in my first term of my MBA and taking two classes. I have never considered myself good at school, because most classes don’t play to my strengths. On occasion math classes would as long as I could follow the pattern, I was good, but I would often struggle and angst over what formula to use. That seems to have all changed. I think I have found my calling in school. I just wish it hadn’t taken until grad school to truly find it.

This week, I was the group leader for our group discussion for our applied organizational behavior class. In this role, I compile the answers of my group members to the homework assignments and write a new paper for submission including all the members’ ideas. As my group members said, I nailed it. I know. I know. Based on how I said it, it sounds like the easiest job in the world, but the whole thing is about finding the common thread between the other member’s responses and elevating it. My whole job, in essence, is to find our common voice through pattern, emphasize it, and take the ideas one step further. For once, it plays to all of my strengths.

I have always been someone who excelled at finding patterns. I also am a decent and fast writer, especially when I have something to say. I have always been a questioner. Trying to figure out what I know will mean in the scope of the world has been like a hobby to me since I was little. Business thinks like me. I am happy to finally have found something that does.

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Wildcard Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wildcard Wednesday: My Academic Calling

  1. cannibell says:

    A week into her graduate program in Public Health, Alex said “Every time I open a book I think, ‘This is what I never knew I always wanted to study!’ ” And I felt the same way when I took my Foundations of Library Science. You’re really lucky to have found academic paradise before you turned 45!

    Like

  2. cannibell says:

    Oops. “….my Foundations of Library Science class.” The Copy Desk regrets the error.

    Like

Leave a Reply

