Mani(a)c Monday: Lists

Danielle’s Note: Hi Everyone! Because of the low interest in Motivation Mondays and LD’s interest in having a little space of his own on the blog. I introduce to you: Mani(a)c Monday. The all LD channel. It’s a working title and he may decide to change it, but show him some love.

I don’t know the last day it I had a lazy day. I’ve tried, but by 9:00 am after having caught up on the news, watched some TV, and played a few games my brain is back at full speed. What can I get done next?

I have learned a lot from my parents. Lots of good things and quite a few items I wish I had never learned. Take organization. Everybody spends hours a year organizing so that they can get everything done. I know it’s essential and I know that if I didn’t make lists I would forget half of what I ever wanted to do. My dad was the master of lists. He would make a list for each person in the family and when you thought it was done he would find more space on the paper. I think sometimes he had a list that documented his lists, some of you who have seen this will agree.

As a kid I hated it, as an adult I appreciate it and I question it. I do it too. I have lists in my wallet, in my car, on my desktop, and I even have lists on every shopping site I know, just in case. I don’t want to forget that I need to look at the shingles on the roof next spring so that I can fix the minor damage or that the tires for my car will be on sale in 3 months. These are important items that if done at an appropriate time will save lots of money, headache, and time. But how much is too much? I could right now make a To Do list that would last me until January, and guess what, while completing that To Do list I could make that list extend to March. Now every item on that list is important. It either saves me time, money, or hassle and so I continue to keep up with the list and the constant memorization and constant struggle of keeping that list short but encompassing. How?  I make a second list.

This seems a little ridiculous, doesn’t it? But in a society that rewards proactive behaviors instead of reactive behaviors it’s hard not to see the benefit. If I were left on my own, I would spend a good part of my day one month in the future and mapping it all out to ensure it was optimized. So where’s my balance? There is no rhyme or reason for what gets done and what gets left by the wayside; family is what makes some things get done and others forgotten. I know you can’t put a cost on family, but if you tallied it all up (the time you spent helping, cooking, fishing, running, or watching TV with them) they cost us all A LOT. Fortunately, family is about the experience here and now and not always optimal choices. We balance a lot of things everyday and when you look at it all not everything we do makes sense, but it makes sense for who we are.

I know that lazy day will be a long way off because my lists will keep me from getting it, but I’m glad my family costs me money.

Signed,

LD

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in LD Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

