Financial Friday: Why I Get The Newspaper

Sundays are my favorite day of the week. My usual schedule involves LD taking Tasha out  and then letting me sleep in, free of my favorite little terror (ahem, terrier…mix). But, that’s not why I love Sundays. I love Sundays because of the Sunday newspaper. I’ll be honest, I get the newspaper, but I rarely, if ever, read the articles. I absolutely LOVE looking through the ads. Call me crazy, but I loved to do it even when I was a kid.

These days, I have more reasons to look through the ads. LD and I keep a running list of items we would like once they go on a good sale, especially if they can get paired up with coupons. So, when we look at the advertised items, we can compare across stores quickly and even get an idea of how much we should pay for an item that we might not even get for a year or two. I estimate that the $12 we pay for the newspaper a month, saves us at least $50 a month, but more often it is around $300-$500 with buying all sorts of things for the house recently. I have been tracking certain house items since about February and it has definitely paid off.

The Sunday paper also has some great coupons that are often higher value than you can find elsewhere. So, if I were you, look into your local paper. Some papers will give you the ads and coupons for free if you sign up and can save you some big bucks if you avoid the temptation to buy things just because of their price. If you don’t have it on your list you make BEFORE looking at the ads, don’t get it.

I hope I’m not the only one who loves Sunday papers. Do you get as crazy about it as I do?

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Financial Friday: Why I Get The Newspaper

  1. Mom says:

    I used to love the Sunday paper, but I like articles and the local paper deteriorated so badly I could not stand it any more.

    Like

  2. LD says:

    We track EVERYTHING in the papers. Half of the stuff we keep an eye on we will probably never buy. But I can tell you that the snow blower we want regularly retails for $220 and is usually on sale for $180 but 2 times a year drops down to about $145. Now we have no strong need for a snow blower at the moment, but next year that’s a potentially pretty big savings.

    Besides looking through ads another tool we use is “camelcamelcamel.com”. This website lets you track price histories on Amazon and if you set it up for notifications it will tell you when your desired item falls to a price you seem reasonable. If your only interested in buying items NOW, this tool isn’t useful. But, you know that mirror that just doesn’t fit your room any more? Set an alert for one you like and forget about it. If it’s meant to be, they’ll let you know. If it isn’t? Oh well.

    This website has saved us lots of money on items we’ve wanted but always thought cost a little too much. Give it a shot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

