Open Letter to Starbucks

Dear Starbucks,

I don’t go to you very often, but when I do it is because I am having trouble motivating myself to get some assignment done and isolating myself in a room full of judgmental people prevents me from going on Facebook. It is that simple. However, if I have to pay $3.85 for a small coffee, especially the ones that I know I can make at home with my espresso machine, I want it done the way I ordered it. Like I said, not there for the coffee, there for the judgmental people to keep me on track. So, when yesterday, I was there, ordered a nonfat caramel macchiato, watched the barista put in 2% milk, saw that I noticed that, put the cup down with the finished drink, and called it nonfat. The reason I order nonfat is because I prefer skim milk. I like my fancy schmancy coffees less creamy.

No, I didn’t say anything. I didn’t get irate. I just took my coffee to my little corner and drank it while working. What bothered me is that the barista was looking at me like take your coffee and be happy otherwise you will hold up the huge line that seems to always be at Starbucks. Yes it does taste different, especially in a coffee drink that is about 80% milk. If people are paying $3.85 for a coffee drink that really costs about a $1 or less, don’t guilt or threaten people into taking coffee that isn’t really what they ordered. I guess the up charge is my use of the internet and judgmental, guilt-tripping atmosphere? Whatever, next time, I will try a different coffee house, maybe Caribou, but people are more friendly there. There is a quality to getting work done that only Starbucks can provide. I guess you’ve sucked me in, Starbucks and yes, it is because of your attitude. Sigh.

Sincerely,

Danielle

 

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Open Letter to Starbucks

  1. Richard Martin says:

    Nothing smells quite like upper middle class, suburban, white entitlement quite like Starbucks. Yeah I am in Starbucks a lot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

