The Power of Perception

Recently, I have been starting my classwork for an Organizational Behavior class I am taking this term. The class doesn’t actually start until October 27th, but considering all the materials and rubrics are online, I decided just to start the work a little early and spread out the workload for my two classes. Call me an over-achiever if you want, but the sooner I start, the sooner I am finished.

Anyway, I have been finding this class extremely interesting, especially the look at perception yesterday. Did you know that if you see stress as helpful, you are less likely to die from complications caused by stress? Your blood vessels don’t constrict and researchers link it to the difference in perception. If you want and have the time, here is the TED talk about making stress your friend.

Also, the power of perception can be huge when it comes to sleep. In a study published in the Harvard Business Review, people who believed they had not slept enough the night before had a decrease in reasoning skills, concentration, and reaction times, all indicators of sleep deprivation, no matter what kind of sleep they really got the night before. Perception is pretty powerful stuff. Perception can cause your body to react differently on a subconscious level.

The good thing about perception is that it can be altered. Remember my post from a long time ago about happiness and using three gratitudes a day? No? Here is a link. By saying three distinct things I was happy about each day over the course of several days, I was able to change my perception of the world and became more optimistic overall. Here’s the deal about changing your perception, only you can do it. Furthermore, I think changing my perception about the world and therefore, taking it on in a more relaxed manner, caused Tasha to also see the world a little differently and take it on in a slightly more relaxed manner. Perception is a very powerful thing. How will you use it to your advantage?

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Back to School, General Life Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

