Today We Close

Closing Countdown: 0 days!!

Today is the day. By this afternoon, LD and I will be officially homeowners! I can’t say the process was easy, but everything is set up to go as smoothly as possible today. At least now that we have the cashier’s check. Oh goodness was that an adventure.

First, we received the HUD later than we should have and had to order the check from our bank and have them overnight it to us. Well, in order for it to go overnight, we had to have the information sent in by noon. Unfortunately, by that point both LD and I were at work and didn’t have access to do it. Luckily, LD was able to take an early lunch and get home to do it, but then he had to figure out all the information he needed on his own because I was busy in meetings. Well, he got the thing ordered and was supposed to receive the tracking information, by yesterday morning, we had received no tracking information.

Well, I was freaking out a little bit (if by little bit, I mean an all out panic attack. Hey, I have to be honest). Before I have to leave for work (and I was going in at 10am), the supposedly overnighted check hadn’t arrived yet. By noon, LD had a tracking number, saying that the check was out on the truck since 8am. I passed a truck in the parking lot that could have had it, but they hadn’t even left a door tag. So, I get home from my work in the field (I have a home office, but I do outside sales calls.) by 2pm and there is still no check. We have to do a pre-signing of the closing paperwork for LD at 4pm so we leave for that, and on the way there, we get notification that they had tried to deliver the package and couldn’t. We try to get it to hold at a Fedex location and the app is not giving us that option.

So, we are panicking a little. We need that check. We need that check in our hot little hands by 8am today or else we cannot close. Period. End of Story. When we get home from the pre-signing at 7:30pm, there is a door tag saying that we can go pick up a package from a Fedex location that is 20 minutes from our apartment. Boy, did we get our little butts in gear. Good news. We made it! Probably shaved a couple years off my life, but the money is in my hot little hand and closing should be smooth today. Wish us luck!

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Homebuying and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

