Confession: I am 24 with High Cholesterol

Days until closing: 3

I have a confession to make to all of you. I am a twenty four year old with high cholesterol. I am not big by any means. In fact, I am on the lowest end of the B.M.I scale and if I lose more than 8 pounds, I would be considered underweight. I don’t have high blood pressure. In fact, there were worries about my blood pressure being low enough I could faint at any moment (never did). I am also a pescatarian and don’t eat any animal meat except for fish and seafood. So, why do I have high cholesterol? I was asking myself the same question. Answer? Genetics. My dad’s family has a history of high cholesterol early in life.

Do you know how it feels when you are doing everything right and you still have a medical condition that seems to come with a lot of stigma even in the medical community? I swear that my doctor thinks I lie to her about how much I exercise and what I eat. Yes, I seriously walk the dog every day, and yes it is for at least two miles or else she drives me crazy for the rest of the day, getting her entertainment by barking at anyone who walks past the apartment. Yes, I do run three times a week. No, I don’t eat steaks and chicken. Lean or otherwise.

What answers do I get for how to get the problem under control? Well, it’s just slightly high (at this point about 9 points too high), so it should be able to be controlled with just proper diet and exercise. Make sure to eat a diet high in fiber and low in fats, and exercise at least 3 times a week. Uh, thanks? So you are telling me that in order to fix the problem, I should just keep doing what I am doing and wave a magic wand? I am not looking for meds. In fact, I am hoping to avoid meds as is my doctor, if I want to have children in the next couple of years. Apparently, you can’t take cholesterol meds when you are pregnant as it can do harm to the baby. Sadly, high cholesterol could also be bad for a baby. So what’s a 24 year old female with high cholesterol to do?

I’ll tell you what I have decided to do. I’ve decided to stop worrying about the doctors doubting me, as it is clear they are at a loss on what to do in my case. Modern medicine can only do so much. I decided I am going to run two miles everyday in addition to walking Tasha. At some point, I might up that amount, but at twenty minutes a day to take care of me, at least I will feel like I am doing something without sacrificing a lot of time. I was frustrated and upset when I heard about my condition over a year ago, but now I am willing to admit it to the world that this is me. Doing everything right doesn’t mean you get the results you want. It’s a fact of life. But, damn it if I don’t try harder. I am not a victim of my own situation. I change it.

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Confession: I am 24 with High Cholesterol

  1. Pingback: My New Year’s Resolutions 2015 | Crazy on the Outside

Leave a Reply

