Loving this Fall Thing

Countdown to Closing: 4 days!

Happy fall, everyone!!! As much as I love summer, these days I have been more of a fall girl. Despite the cold that seems to come earlier and earlier, there are so many things to love. The colors, the food, the football, the decorations, and the excitement to do things outside before it gets too cold to do so. With the first official day of fall yesterday, we went out to the apple orchard with some friends we don’t get to see often. My only regret? Not being able to actually bring home that many apples because then I would have to move them and my kitchen is mainly packed up, but I promise you, I will be be going back soon to get plenty of apples to make every kind of apple creation I can think of!

The only way to do an apple orchard is to do pick-your-own. Seriously, the experience is fantastic! When we were at the orchard, there were so many families with kids ranging from babies sleeping in carriers up to teenagers. My favorite part is eating the apples while out in the orchard. I don’t think I picked very many that didn’t go immediately into my mouth, but the boys did a great job working together to fill our basket. Seriously, good work, guys!

IMG_0003IMG_0005

 

After picking our apples, we stopped by the orchard’s “apple barn” where they sell all sorts of goodies. LD and I picked up some apple cider donuts that were to die for and a small block of pumpkin pie fudge that tastes like the inside of a pumpkin pie. And, I LOVE PUMPKIN PIE! It’s probably my favorite thing ever. While our friends got some sweet corn salsa and some pumpkin butter which are to die for! After we get settled in the house, LD and I are making pumpkin butter. Period. The end. But doesn’t everything look yummy?

IMG_0006

 

Oh and of course, LD’s fantasy football team made a comeback from behind victory even though the Packers couldn’t get their acts together. No, I don’t want to talk about it. I’m angry.

What are your favorite parts about fall? Are you a fan of the cooler weather? The football? The food? What will you make with the apples you are going to pick this year? I am anxious to find out!

 

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

