What I Will and Won’t Miss About the Apartment

Closing Countdown: 7

As we are a week away from closing and moving into the new house. I am starting to realize that there are some things I like about the apartment. Granted, there were some things that I always knew I liked, but the longer you live in a place you can’t change, the more the things that you dislike and can’t change bother you. I am not going to miss the single bathroom with the pedestal sink. I HATE pedestal sinks, no countertops=no storage and no place to set your contact case down when you take out your contacts. Yes, I know, I shouldn’t be taking my contacts out over the sink because they could easily fall down the drain, but I like to live life on the edge from time to time, so sue me. I am also not going to miss the rain down of water from the floor above like we had earlier this year. Seriously, folks, if you live in an apartment, especially a second floor apartment or higher, for the love of God, buy a plunger!!!

Anyway, there are some things I will miss about the apartment. For one, I will miss being able to angle the mirrors on the bathroom door and the over the sink mirror so I can see both the front and the back as I am doing my hair. I will miss the fact that the carpeting allowed Tasha to run up and down the hallway at high speeds to burn off energy. The new house is mainly wood and laminate floors so that will not be possible for her with major wipeouts. However, she will have the option of running around in the yard, so I guess that one evens out. I will miss the lower utility bills, especially considering water and heat are free. I will miss being able to blame someone when the repairs are done poorly. When we have a house, we will be the ones responsible for the repairs and you can’t blame yourself, right? I will miss sharing an office space with LD, but I think I will get over that one pretty quickly.

It is always both exciting and sad to move. Happy to move to a bigger better place. Sad to leave what you know and start over. I am looking forward to this new beginning for us and I am happy to finally have a place to call our own and have control over, but there are some things I will miss. Don’t worry though, I will get over them.

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

