The Paint Frustration

Now that we are getting close to moving out of the apartment, we had to paint the walls back to white, because the person before us painted them a taupe(ish) color and we liked it and had them keep it. There have been some arguments over what the color was. Some have called it purple, some have called it grey, some have called it green, while painting we realized it reflects different hues from different angles. I have to say I’m impressed with the color. It seems like such a chameleon.

Anyway, when we moved in, our landlord said that they would provide us with the paint to paint it back. They lied. After asking us how much paint we needed, they only provided us with a quart. I mean, seriously, why did you make me go through the work of determining the square footage of the wall to only provide me with a quart…and no paint code. What did they tell us when we finished the first little part of the hallway and needed more paint? “Oh, we don’t just hand out free paint. If you need more, you should go to Sherwin Williams and buy your own.” I’m not sure what made me more angry, the fact that only expensive paint would do, or the fact that they went back on their word.

So, with no paint codes even, we dutifully went out to Sherwin Williams and had to dry down whatever we could scrape from the side of the can and try to match the paint color. Luckily, that only took about 20 minutes. However, I wasn’t about to spend $400 from my security deposit for them to paint the walls as I am sure that is what they would charge. However, because of this whole needing paint and it taking a while, we didn’t have time to finish painting before we had to pick up Tasha from daycare. I am so happy I had clever LD to fashion a pen for her out of chairs, the couch and an ironing board. I don’t think I could have handled her whining while I was getting more and more frustrated with the landlord.

tpen

 

We are finally done with the painting and it was only a two day project, but I can’t express how happy I will be to move into a house that I own. I can choose the paint color and the kind of paint. I can break stuff and fix it myself without doing their “approved” methods, which are usually the fastest, but most poorly done fixes. I am so incredibly ready to just be done with apartment living.

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

