Good Husband, Bad Husband

This past weekend, I think LD was competing for both the “Best Husband of the Year” award and the “Worst Husband of the Year Award.” I think he is still deciding, but it was so crystal clear this weekend that he didn’t know which one he wanted that every other sentence would switch from one of those categories to the other.

Late on Saturday night (or maybe really early Sunday morning), I woke up to an elbow jab right in the left eye. When LD is sleeping (especially if he has a nightmare), limbs can fly anywhere. Unfortunately for me this time, that limb was flying toward my left eye and made contact. Well, of course, I wake up angry. He looks like he wants to cry. After calming myself down, we both go back to sleep.

In the morning, he wakes up and runs out to get donuts to apologize. So, I wake up to donuts, a back rub, and “Good Morning Beautiful” playing. What a sweetheart, right? Well, kind of. As soon as I finish a donut (I believe it was an apple fritter which is one of my favorites), he turns to me and says “Ok, time for us to go run.” Of course THAT is the time he remembers to push me to go workout. It’s not like I hadn’t been mentioning I needed a little push to get myself back into running for weeks now. So, with donut sitting heavy, I get ready and lace up my running shoes. My thoughts during the run alternated between loving him for encouraging me, hating him for making me run, and trying to keep a donut down.

I don’t know what award he’s going for, but I wish he would hurry up and decide. It’s hard to know what to expect from him, but I guess that’s what keeps the marriage interesting and I know he always tries to have the best intentions.

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good Husband, Bad Husband

  1. Mom says:

    Very sweet story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

