What I Have Learned in One Day on Twitter

onedaytwitter

After coming across several places that suggested that Twitter is a good place to advertise a blog and connect up with other bloggers, I decided to give it a try (@Crazy_Outside). Wow have I learned a lot in just one day on there!

1. It is really easy to find other blogs and bloggers. Seriously, if you search for #blogger, you will find so many different blogs your head will spin. I spent a lot of time yesterday just reading other blogs and discovering some of the smaller ones that would be hard for me to discover elsewhere. I know that anyone who just found my blog from Twitter is thinking, “yeah, duh!” but go easy on me. I’m new at this.

2. Twitter creates a space to find other people with similar interests. Once again, the hashtag thing seems to be able to connect people who don’t know each other, but have similar interests in a way that Facebook never could. I’m so excited to start building up my blog network. I have read some amazing stories and some fantastic ideas in the past day. I especially love finding blogs where I feel like I become a part of the bloggers lives just by reading them. I’ve even started tweeting about some of the pieces I am reading.

3. Twitter isn’t all a walk in the park. I have definitely learned that I am terrible at using hashtags. Some people are able to artfully put them in the middle of their tweets and make them look like they aren’t even really there. Me? Well, I lump them all at the end and put in some of the top subjects from my daily post. It looks awkward. It feels awkward, and I’m pretty sure whoever is on the computer on the other end is laughing about how terrible my hashtags are. Hopefully, they click on my links and see that I’m not as terrible at blog writing as I am at tweeting, but I am definitely hashtag inept and need help so they probably just skip over it (still laughing).

Does anyone from the twitter sphere want to help me out? Teach me your mysterious ways! I just feel like a baby bird who was pushed out of the nest because I should be ready to fly and found myself plummeting towards the ground with my wings wide open. I want to tweet but I twit instead. (Yes, I sadly cracked myself up on that one.) I hope everyone reading has as adventurous, as exciting, and as educational a day as I had yesterday.

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

