House Update

Unfortunately, the house deal has fallen apart. We will not be buying a house this year as my poor emotions cannot handle any more of the ups and downs of house hunting right now. So, we have decided to rent for another year. By the end of today, we will know whether we can stay at our current apartment or whether we will have to move. Although I really don’t want to move because I hate the moving process, I am ok with it. I think there are a lot of good options out there right now that can save us a little money and set us up well for buying or building a house next year.

With buying a house, you have to know when to walk away. Although we definitely struggled with turning our back on that house, we decided that the siding (EIFS if anyone is familiar with it) presented too many very costly risks. The seller was also not good about disclosing information that we would later find out. By the time we settled on walking away, the risks far outweighed the rewards on that house. I am sad and disappointed, but I will be ok. It seems to me that walking away from a house is like a breakup. I might cry, but I know it was the right thing to do.

But, there is some good news! I was planning on putting off getting my MBA for a bit due to settling into a new house, but because the house is no more. It is full steam ahead on applying for school. If I can get my application done and get into the program I want to, I might be able to start before the end of the year (terms for the program are 8 weeks long and one starts at the end of October)! I better get to writing some essays and studying for the GMAT exam! Wish me luck!

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

