So You Want to Know How Our House Hunt is Going?

It is amazing how much a house can matter to you, especially when you’ve walked through it once. On the first day of our house hunt, we walked into a house and immediately felt like we were at home. It had a huge backyard and an absolutely gorgeous kitchen. It also didn’t hurt that it had impeccable construction and was priced below value. So, we put in an offer. It was near the top of our budget, but we decided that it was a house we could raise a family in. Unfortunately, the seller was going through a divorce and hadn’t completely decided whether to sell or not yet. So, after asking for an extension on responding to our offer, he decided to wait to make a decision until after his divorce was final. After the divorce was final, we were strung along for another month as he tried to get a loan to build a new house, which he was denied for.

After being burned by one seller, I was apprehensive to put an offer in on another great house we found, but because by this point we had looked at easily over 50 houses, of which maybe 3 had solid construction and were not in flood plains, we decided that we shouldn’t pass up taking a shot at getting the house, even though it might go into a bidding war. Who knew that even in a buyer’s market that there are so few decent houses that the sellers still have all the power? We were told that the sellers were expecting another offer that would be higher than ours, but if we tweaked ours a bit and got it in first, they would accept our offer. I seriously feel like I’ve been through the wringer on all of this house hunting stuff. I am just hopeful that it will all work out for the best.

As we come up on the end of our current apartment lease, if the deal doesn’t work out, we have some tough choices. Those choices involve where are we going to live? Do we want to just wait a year before trying the house hunt again or do we want to pay $100 more per month to go to a month to month lease with our current landlords and keep trying to find a house? I like things to be planned. I don’t like not knowing where I am going to be living in a month and a half. I know, no one does, but I am one of those people that gets so anxious when there is no plan that I usually make myself sick. Yes, I know it will work out, but I want it to happen NOW!

Did anyone else have these problems when they were house hunting?

This entry was posted in General Life Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment