What I Wish I Knew on My Wedding Day

WeddingDay

Photo credit to Brad Ryan Photography.

 

Just over two months ago, LD and I got married after 2.5 years of dating craziness that could only be described as a true roller coaster. No one seemed concerned about us against the odds, we had already been dealing with the worst that life can throw at a couple since the day we started dating. He truly is my partner in life and my best friend. There are some things that I wish I had known on my wedding day, though, and because several friends’ weddings coming up in the next couple of weeks, I would love to share what I wish I had known.

1. The day really goes fast. From the time you wake up that morning until the time you crash that night, you are constantly moving on to the next thing. I wish I had planned some down time into the day to just hang out with LD. Everyone wants to talk to you or ask you about how you want this or that done, so just taking 5 minutes with LD after the ceremony to simply breathe would have made the whole day just a little better.

2. Pick a photographer whose personality meshes well with your guests. We actually somewhat lucked into this one, but a photographer that meshes well with your guests can get some excellent pictures simply because people feel comfortable around them. The photographer should also be able to take amazing pictures, but the more comfortable you and your guests feel, the less stiff the pictures. People still tell us how much they loved our photographer, and it started way before they ever saw the pictures. If you are looking for an excellent photographer in the Milwaukee area, please talk to me!

3. Even the most clued in groom won’t realize how much stress you are going through that day. LD is really clued in and even planned a lot of the wedding stuff. However, whenever a question comes up about the wedding, everyone asks the bride. The groom has no clue about how much work you are trying to do even the day of. I wish I had realized that he didn’t know how much pressure was put on me to make some last minute decisions in order to put out the small fires, while he was just hanging out with his groomsmen. If I had clued him in to what was going on, I know he would have tried to help.

4. For all out of town guests, make sure they have information for emergency situations. On the day of my wedding, one of my cousins had to go to urgent care and my mother spent significant time trying to figure out which ones were open when. I wish we would have planned for certain things and had provided information for my guests such as: a good tailor, the nearest hospitals and clinics, the nearest drug store, a close by superstore (such as Target or Walmart), who to call when a car breaks down, and a close dry cleaners. It is actually surprising how many guests need a little more information than what are the nearest restaurants and where are the wedding festivities due to unforeseen circumstances.

5. Changing your name is a big pain. I know that isn’t something that is dealt with the day of, but if you have to ask for the copy of your marriage certificate, fill out the paperwork before you go on your honeymoon and ask for a couple copies. You will spend a lot of time on the phones with customer service for everything financial and most places will want to see a copy of your marriage certificate. If you have multiple, you don’t have to wait for them to send it back and can keep working on the name change on your time. No matter what you do though, a name change will have things go wrong that you will have to spend time fixing, guaranteed.

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

