Healthcare Frustrations: Why are People So Rude?

Since we did a 10k race on the 4th of July, LD’s foot has been bothering him. It started out as tightness in the foot muscles and has since slowly become more and more painful. So, he decided it was finally time to go to the doctor. Previously, we had come to the conclusion that it was most likely a stress fracture or a muscle injury where the healing process pretty much involves waiting a month for it to heal, but the fact that it was getting more painful was making us nervous. He had been in contact with his doctor and they said that they would do an x-ray if and when LD thought it was necessary. Well, it became necessary.

So, LD went to schedule an appointment to do the x-ray. The first nurse apparently couldn’t figure out the fact he was trying to schedule an appointment and essentially hung up on him. They called him back abut a half hour to forty-five minutes later and setup the appointment. After taking the x-rays, they sent him on his way without telling him anything about the findings. After 4 hours, they have not let him know anything about the x-rays, so he calls to check everything is ok. All he says is “Hi. I had x-rays earlier and I’m calling to see if there are any results yet.” The nurse on the other end of the phone rudely snaps, “LD, you will get a call when we have results.” By the end of the day, LD still had not received a call.

Now, I am no expert on x-rays, but I do know that it doesn’t take hours to read them. Even if it does, why are you snapping at my husband by his name, when he hadn’t even provided it to you? He is not pushy. He does not go into the doctor that frequently. I mean he does more often than I do, but I’m usually only going in for my annual physical. He goes into the doctor probably about 3 times a year including his physical. He does not waste your time. He is concerned about his foot especially considering the fact that he spends most of his day standing on it in a lab, by the time he comes home at this point, he has a very hard time walking.

It should not take a day to hear about x-rays. We should not have to schedule and pay for another office visit when it turns up broken. The only thing I can think of causing this much issue is if there is a bigger problem, and in that case, don’t be rude to us! Healthcare is your business. Please notice the “care” part of that. If it weren’t for the fact that I like my doctors and LD actually likes his doctor, we would start looking for other professionals. The group that our doctors are with already bill us separately for room charges for any appointment, making it extra work to call insurance and make sure they cover that bill correctly. I also like that the group has a hospital with cutting edge research which has access to my health records if anything were to happen, but pretty soon, I am done with the nurses. I have had my own experience with a rude nurse practitioner in the past who basically told me I was 100% at fault for my high cholesterol because apparently I don’t workout enough. At that time, I was running 15 miles a week, doing 2¬†hours of yoga a week, and walking the dog a minimum of 3 miles a day. Yes, clearly, I am a couch potato. And, clearly, you didn’t listen to anything I told you.

I can handle rude if I believe that the person really knows what they are doing and are doing it efficiently. Some people are just gruff in general. The gruff competent ones are the ones you can always trust to get a straight answer. They won’t sugar coat anything so you know how severe something is. If they give you sympathy, you know you are facing tough odds for survival. The nurses we have been dealing with recently though, don’t seem to have a clue, and then blame it on you.

Well, I guess LD and I will me having a long discussion about our healthcare stuff. It is sad because we really like our actual doctors! It seems to be other parts of the staff that can’t seem to just get it together. Anyone have any suggestions with how to deal with rude, incompetent people?

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

