Stuff Your Belly and Your Wallet: Breakfast for Dinner

Stuff Your Belly and Your Wallet: Potato GnocchiWhen it comes to saving money on groceries, there is nothing I love on my meal plan more than breakfast for dinner. Heck, I just love breakfast for dinner! Growing up, we never had the “fancy” breakfasts that a lot of kids got. My mother was not a morning person. In fact, one of my chores in high school was to make sure she put the milk in the fridge and the cereal in the cabinet. I don’t want the sleepwalking monster turning on a burner, do you? To clarify, I call her a monster because she would snap at poor little bounce off the walls morning person me if she hadn’t gotten to her coffee yet, but then again, I was probably a bit to handle with my talking and actually functioning and stuff. Cereal is also just a simpler breakfast with everyone running everywhere. I get it. But, I love pancakes! And waffles! And pretty much anything else you put syrup on. When would I get it? Dinnertime and trust me, it was so worth the wait! The great thing about putting breakfast for dinner into your meal plan is that it is rather low cost. You can easily make pancake/waffle mix for about $1 and we always end up freezing some for future lunches or weekend breakfasts. Please see the recipe later. When you want the frozen waffles, remove them from the freezer and pop them in the toaster. No need to buy them in the store. Pancake/Waffle Mix

  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 3 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted

Mix all dry ingredients together and then add the wet ones. To make the breakfasts have more nutritional content, pick up a low cost fruit like bananas or apples to put on top. We also sometimes use the jams we make instead of syrup. If I have almond flour, which I make with the leftover almond meal from making almond milk, I will sometimes replace a 1/4 cup of the flour in the waffle mix with that. Scrambled eggs can be a low cost side, and if you desire, you can mix in some frozen veggies. Waffles with peanut butter and bananas are also really really good and have protein. Other Low Cost Options:

  • Omelet/Egg Scramble with leftover veggies or frozen veggies
  • French Toast
  • Bagels with Egg (especially if you make your own bagels with this recipe from Spoonful!)
  • Egg in the Hole (Toad in the Hole)
  • Stuffed French Toast
  • Breakfast Burritos

What do you like for Breakfast for Dinner?    

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in MoneyWise and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

