Thoughts That Go Through My Head While House Hunting

HouseHunting

LD and I have been house hunting since mid-May. Maybe we are being too picky, but we have yet to find something we really like in our price range, where the seller is not going through a divorce and can’t legally accept our offer until about 2 months of financial paperwork goes through for him. So yes, we found the perfect house for us on day 1 of house hunting, and now continue to house-hunt because of a lot of drama not connecting to our own lives except by that house.

Now, we continue to hunt and although I have gotten over that house, there are some bizarre houses on the market and not a single house has said home to me at all, let alone enough to fork over more than $100,000 over the course of the next 30 years. I don’t think that we really are asking for much from a house at this point though. We are avid DYIers and would love to sink our teeth into house projects that really make the house ours. Here is our need list:

  • At least 3 bedrooms. I don’t want to have to find a new house as soon as we start expanding our family in a few years
  • At least 2 bathrooms. You don’t know the pain of only having one bathroom, until you find yourself doing the potty dance in the hall as your significant other decides to extend his shower time in order to use the hot water to stretch (and increase his non-existent flexibility?). Our new bathroom rules (you are now allowed to pee if the other person is in the shower, but don’t leave a stink bomb) have made it easier, but no I am not doing it for the next 10 years or more of my life.
  • Solid construction
  • Good layout flow for when people are over
  • A two car garage. Wisconsin winters are tough, I am not making it more difficult on myself (and my poor car!)
  • And of course, stay within budget. Our budget is well above average for the area we are looking at.

Seriously, that is the list at this point! I don’t know why we are having so much trouble except that no one wants to sell their home that they can raise their kids in and love forever. So, here is what goes through my head as we are touring house after house.

1. I am going to stay positive today. Today, we are going to find a house we would like to make an offer on.

2. Why did they put the dining room on the exact opposite side of the house from the kitchen!!

3. You want $XXX,000 for this? Seriously?!

4. We are never going to find a house!

5. Oh I really like that kitchen! *Take two steps into the living room* Why is there a hole in the wall that leads straight to the outside? No, it’s not a door…or a window. *sob*

6. *LD knocks on doors and walls to check on some construction thing* Hello? 

7. And we can put my office here. And we can put Tasha’s kennel here. And….and the basement has a lot of water in it….

8. We are NEVER going to find a house!!!!

9. Oh yay! They insulated the basement with 2 feet of spray foam so you can’t see any of the pipes or wires. You think I’m going to just trust that this 100 year old house has no foundation issues?

10. Are you sure we are in the right house? This looks nothing like the pictures online.

11. Let’s try looking at a fixer upper. I think we could do a lot with it. Nope, not going to happen, to these sellers, “fixer upper” means pay for the house, tear it down, and start over. Seriously, the foundation is just crumbling! How is a less than $100,000 house even close to worth what they are asking? The land is worth $60,000 by itself!

12. Let’s look at more houses. I’m sure next time will be better. Next time, we will find the house! I just know it!

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts That Go Through My Head While House Hunting

  1. Mom says:

    I can answer #2! I can answer #2! For the same reason that, in the house you grew up in, they put the living room in the farthest spot from the front door.

    Like

Leave a Reply

