Tasha Loves Daycare and They Love Her

I have to admit. When we first starting putting Tasha in daycare one day a week back in January, I was very nervous. Between her allergies and behavior issues, I was a little afraid that it wouldn’t work out and either our dog or someone at the daycare would end up hurt. However, the possibility that it would give our pup confidence around new people and would get better with meeting other dogs. I had to give it a try. The fact that I would get one day a week where I wouldn’t have a dog groaning at me to do something interesting while I was working didn’t hurt either.

Well, daycare is worth every penny! Tasha loves being there and comes home tired. So tired in fact that I get two working days without a dog groaning at me, because the day after daycare day, she just sleeps all day. Plus, she is more open to meeting new people. She tells us that she is uncomfortable, but she doesn’t get aggressive. The other day, there was a dog that was unsure about meeting her and was growling and Tasha just sat at my feet waiting for instructions.

It doesn’t hurt that the daycare staff love her. They call her “baby Tasha.” When we pick her up, they tell us that she is “soooo cute” and so well behaved. Well, the first time I heard that in my head I was thinking, “my Tasha? Really?” It isn’t that I don’t believe in my girl. It’s just that she has spunk and an attitude to back it up. She is well behaved, but she sometimes does things in that teenage manner of “I’m doing it because I want to, not because you tell me to.” Apparently, she doesn’t do that to them. What am I doing wrong? Being her parent? Probably. But, somehow this dog that I was nervous to put into daycare has become the love of the daycare center. I guess it is a lesson in parenting and learning how to let go.

LD and I were having dinner with my dad last night. He told us something about my mother, who as I have said before has been terrified of dogs for nearly her entire life. My mother used to assume that the dog would do something bad until they proved otherwise. Now she does the opposite. She assumes that they are going to be fine until they prove otherwise. Not only has this allowed her to relax more around dogs (she still avoids them, mind you), but this attitude also creates a situation where the dog isn’t as nervous and is less likely to do something just because of the change in expectations. I am so happy that I could bring that to my mother’s life. I doubt that change was easy for her, but she was able to grow. I couldn’t be more proud. All of this was because of Tasha’s progress, which was caused partially by our work and partially by the daycare center. Seriously, worth every penny.

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Pet Rescue/Rehabilitation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

