One of Those Days

Some days you question yourself and wonder what you are doing with your life. No? Is it just me? Oh well, some days I question myself and wonder what I am doing with my life. Usually, it occurs on a day where I just feel stuck where I am at in my life. Today was one of those days. My current five year plan (yes, I am one of those people) involves staying in the same job, getting my MBA (partially paid by my company), followed by having kids. Now, in order to get about half of my MBA program funded by my company, I need to stay with the company, but when you have one of those days that you are constantly behind and everyone is angry at you for circumstances that are out of your control, you can’t help but ask yourself, “Is this what I want?”

To be honest with you, I don’t know. I know that if I want to get my MBA to get into a job that involves more of a marketing or management job, I will need to stay with my current company for the time it takes me to get the degree, which I can start in another year due to school requirements of length of time in the work force, plus an extra year in order to not owe them anything. Unfortunately, my best options for advancement in my career with my same company are in areas where LD will not have much opportunity for what he wants to do. And, in our current location, I have no opportunity for advancement whereas LD has many options if he wanted to switch companies. 
In a marriage, where does one person start and the other end? I know that, for me, no job of mine is worth LD’s unhappiness. I am sure he feels the same way if our roles were reversed. So where do you find balance? I don’t know, but between now and the future, I am going to find out.
About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

