Tricks I’ve Learned

Sometimes, you wish that you could go back and tell yourself at a younger age some things you learned along the way. For me, some of the big ones are the beauty tricks I have learned, that actually cost me less money, but work so much better for me. Most of you probably know most of these, and are going to be yelling at me through the screen wondering why I didn’t know that  before, but here is my list.

1. The Oil Cleansing Method. You would think that as a chemist I would have kept in mind earlier that like dissolves like, but I didn’t. As a teenager, my skin would break out, but as soon as I used any kind of product, I would get dry skin like none other. Turns out, I should have been using the oil cleansing method the whole time. Using a mixture of 90% extra virgin olive oil and 10% castor oil, I can clean my face and moisturize at the same time. I rub an amount about the size of a dime on my face and then wipe it off using a wet washcloth. Seriously, takes no extra time! My face doesn’t dry up and I only get small breakouts here and there.

2. The Magic of Dry Shampoo. My skin, if you haven’t figured it out yet, dries out like crazy. During the winter, I swear my skin is flaking everywhere. It also takes forever to wash my long and thick hair. What have I learned? Dry shampoo is a miracle. It isn’t perfect, but I can now water wash my hair every 3 days instead of everyday and save myself time and from dry skin. Recently, I got coupons and got two bottles of the Suave Professionals Keratin Infusions dry shampoo for less than $3 for the both of them. Definitely a life savor.

3. Get a Men’s Electric Razor for Emergencies. You know when someone calls you and makes plans for going somewhere that involves an outfit that shows some leg. In my case, this happens fairly often and I like to get away with not shaving my legs for as long as possible. It is a major pain to do, you sit in the shower for a while, and the blades cost a fortune. Last year, I got a men’s electric razor and I am so much happier. I use it dry when necessary and only use my standard razor for my arm pits and when I need a really good shave. Don’t use an electric razor for your pits! It hurts really badly!!! Also, men’s electric razors shave a lot better than women’s and are cheaper.

Anyone have any other suggestions for beauty tips that I should know to make my life 10 times easier?

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

