What a Beautiful Day

We finally got what we, the Wisconsinites, have been wanting for a while: warm weather. Finally, Tasha and I were able to get out and take a longer walk. So, we walked for about 45 minutes. I have to say that it was clear to me that I have been cooped up too long. I seriously stopped and spun in joy a couple of times because I was that happy to be outside with my jacket unzipped. Poor Tasha, she was just along for the ride, getting splashed by the puddles every time she took a step, but I would like to think she enjoyed the majority of the walk.

Now, for all of my truly warm weather folks, when I say we got warm weather, I mean it hit 45 degrees. You will think that that is so cold, but after months now of freezing weather, 45 degrees feels like a heat wave. I think all of my cold weather folks would agree. Unfortunately, the warm weather won’t be sticking around, but it was a fun little tease. At least the weather report looks like highs in the low twenties at the coldest for a little while.

I have to say though, I am not a big fan of the cold. However, if I didn’t have the cold for part of the year, it would feel very very wrong. So, we have this time period where you get out of the habit of exercising, because really, who wants to run on a treadmill in some dingy basement or be exercising in front of a tv by yourself hoping that none of your neighbors are watching you do these weird moves looking less than half as graceful and twice as sweaty as the people on the television. Or, spend the money joining a gym and having to guilt yourself into going most of the time. For me, at least, winter is a semi hibernation time, where you spend a lot of time just talking or cuddling.

Winter makes you really want to take advantage of the warm weather you get from late spring to early fall. I find myself a lot more energized to walk around the neighborhood and run. Spend time playing tennis or really doing fun outdoor activities with LD (and I guess Tasha too now that she is a part of our family). So, taking away what you really want makes you really grateful for the time you have it. Maybe, that is why we get winter.

About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in General Life Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

