Weekend of Productivity

This past weekend can be summed up in one word: productivity. I didn’t do too much writing because I was too busy doing other things: completing taxes, cleaning, running errands, re-planning the budget, designing the wedding invitations, playing tennis, completing the paperwork for the wedding DJ, re-analyzing the wedding budget, trying to piece together some logistics for the honeymoon, gathering updated addresses for the guest list, practicing the wedding dance, washing laundry and more. The good thing about productive weekends is that you are proud of what you accomplished. The bad thing is that you realize how much more you really have to get done. I still need to study for my GMAT exam that I will probably take in October, get crafts done for the wedding, figure out new training treats for Tasha that don’t have coconut in them, my usual work load for my job, etc. etc. etc.

Life never stops nor should it. Do I wish that I could spend more time with LD? Always. But, part of life is getting the workload done, whether that is at home or on the job. I was quite sad to see him leave this morning for work, especially considering I was secretly hoping the car wouldn’t start due to the cold weather we have up here in Wisconsin today and tomorrow, but of course we have a super reliable car. Just so you know, it doesn’t seem to always be a good thing. We are ready for some vacation time next week. With a wedding coming up, every spare moment seems to be becoming consumed in planning, designing, and determining logistics. The vacation days will be different. We will hang out as a family. Maybe we will take Tasha to an indoor dog park in Milwaukee to just have fun. We will have two days on non-productivity.
Although Tasha has been helping me learn how to be in the moment, I have only accomplished being able to do it for only a minute or two at a time. Half the time, my mind is wandering, trying to figure out some complex problem that I encountered earlier. It will be good to slow down for a bit. My goal is to actually do nothing. Let my mind recharge and not focus on where we can get little bits of extra money for that house we want to buy, not focus on how I can generate more sales for work, not focus on how I will get all the items I want to donate to the humane society that have accumulated in my apartment into the car and get to Milwaukee, not focus on how best to study for my GMAT. 
Andy Puddicombe has an interesting TED talk that I watched this morning about 10 mindful minutes. What really struck me in this talk was when he said that “We can’t change every little thing that happens in to us in life, but we can change the way that we experience it.” Even though productivity has been such an exhilarating experience recently, if I am not careful, I will begin to fixate on always getting things done. I won’t sit back and let all thoughts pass through my head without judgement. And, as you all probably know, my mind is always fixating and judging and anxious.  Puddicombe is big into meditating 10 minutes a day to focus the mind. For him, meditation is living in the moment. Being aware of your thoughts and the world around you to gain perspective. I look forward to stopping productivity from time to time and giving this a try. I look forward to enjoying more vacations of 10 minutes a day. And, as always, I will let you know how it goes.
About Danielle Beranek

Life can get away from you when being young, married, and still fairly fresh out of college. Taking on a pet, student loans, going back to school, and soon a new house is enough to leave ones head spinning. For me, life is crazy, but only on the outside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

